Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Election Day almost here

November 5, 2012
By MARK LAW and WARREN SCOTT - Staff writer , The Herald-Star

STEUBENVILLE - Polls will be open Tuesday from 6:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. as voters cast ballots in what is expected to be heavy turnout.

Jefferson County has 49,746 registered voters. Diane Gribble, county board of elections director, said she anticipates 72 percent of the voters will have cast ballots by the time polls close on Tuesday. There was a 72.9 percent voter turnout during the presidential election four years ago.

Brooke County has 20,698 registered voters, a majority of which are expected to turn out, based on the large number who have cast early votes, said Pam Northcraft, deputy elections clerk.

"We usually have about 20,000 voters turn out," she said.

In addition to the president, Ohioans will decide races for U.S. senator and Congress, state senator, justices of the Ohio Supreme Court and court of appeals. Voters also will decide races for two county commissioner seats.

Voters also will decide the fate of local levies, including the renewal of Steubenville's 5-mill levy for current expenses; an additional 2-mill levy for Buckeye Local School District for permanent improvements for a continuing period of time; an additional 9.45 mills for Edison Local School District for current expenses for a continuing period of time; Indian Creek Local School District, bond issue of 3.5 mills for constructing school facilities under the exceptional needs program of the Ohio School Facilities Commission and locally funded initiatives; renovating, improving and constructing additions to existing facilities, including furnishings and equipment; acquiring land and interests in land as necessary, in principle amount of $22 million for 37 years; and additional 1.45 mills for current expenses for five years; and Jefferson County Joint Vocational School District, additional 1 mill for current expenses, for purchasing equipment for buildings and improving buildings, for 10 years.

The board of elections also announced the following precinct voting place changes:

Steubenville Precincts 5-1, 5-2, 5-3, 5-4, 6-1, 6-4, Linduff and Stark precincts from the Rose, 680 Lovers Lane to Steubenville Country Club, 413 Lovers Lane.

Amsterdam Precinct from St. Joseph's School, 348 N. Main St. to Amsterdam Village Building, 103 Springfield St.

Bergholz Precinct from Trinity United Presbyterian Church, 266 Second St., to Bergholz Fire Department, 724 Monroe St, Bergholz.

Elk Precinct from St. Joseph's School, 348 N. Main St ., to Bergholz Fire Department, 724 Monroe St, Bergholz.

Tiltonsville Precinct from Tiltonsville Firehouse, 123 Grandview Ave., to Tiltonsville Methodist Church, 106 Grandview Ave, Tiltonsville.

Bloomingdale and Wayne precincts from temporary location at Unionport Firehouse, 3619 county Road 39, back to Unionport Fire Department Social Hall, 3617 county Road 39, Bloomingdale.

In West Virginia, voters will make selections in races for U.S. senator and Congress, governor, secretary of state, state auditor, state treasurer, commissioner of agriculture, attorney general and justices on the supreme court of appeals. Also on the ballot are contested races in Brooke and Hancock counties for house of delegates and state senator. Brooke County has a contested election for sheriff, with one of the candidates being a write-in. Hancock County has contested elections for county commissioner, sheriff and magistrate. There's also the Hancock County Sheltered Workshop renewal to generate $250,000 per year for four years.

Brooke County voters may cast ballots at the following precincts:

Wellsburg District: 1st Precinct, Wellsburg United Methodist Church, 11th and Charles streets; 4th Precinct, Wellsburg Primary School, Main Street entrance; 5th Precinct, Wellsburg Primary School, Charles Street entrance; 6th Precinct, Wellsburg fire station at 23rd Street; 11th Precinct, Beech Bottom Primary School; 14th Precinct, Bethany Town Building; 15th Precinct, McKinleyville Fire Club; 16th Precinct, Windsor Heights Firemen's Club; Precinct 21B, Franklin Primary School on state Route 27.

Follansbee District: 17th Precinct, Franklin Fire Dept, 960 Washington Pike, Wellsburg; Precinct 20B, New Day Christian Center at the intersection of Rabbit Hill Road and Pleasant Avenue; Precinct 21A, Board of Education Building, 1201 Pleasant Avenue, Wellsburg; Precinct 23A, Hooverson Heights Primary School; Precincts 23B and 23D, Hooverson Heights Fire Department; 28th Precinct Follansbee City Building; 31st Precinct, Jefferson Primary School, Jefferson Street, Follansbee; Precincts 32A and 33, Follansbee Middle School, Mark Avenue & Main Street.

Weirton District: 23C Precinct, Hooverson Heights Church of Christ, 102 Church Avenue; 24th Precinct, Colliers Primary School; 25th and 26th Precincts, Freedom Place II apartments at 3720 Main St., Weirton; 34th Precinct, Millsop Primary School, Marland Heights, Weirton; Precinct 35A, Open Door Baptist Church on Eldersville Road; Precinct 35B, Goodwill Grange on St. John's Road, Colliers; 36th Precinct, St. Thomas Episcopal Church, Three Springs Drive, Weirton.

Hancock County polling sites are:

Grant District: Precinct 1, Allen T. Allison Elementary; 2, Chester Volunteer Fire Department; 3, Newell Volunteer Fire Department; 4, Wells Center; 5, Lawrenceville Volunteer Fire Department; 6, Hancock County Senior Center; 7, Holiday Inn Express in Newell; 8, New Manchester Elementary; and 9, New Manchester Volunteer Fire Department.

Clay District: Precinct 10, New Cumberland City Building; 11, Point Pleasant Church; 12, Oakland Fire Department; 13, Get Together Picnic Grounds; 14, County Road Fire Station; 15, Dunbar Center; 16, Weirton Senior Center on Main Street; 17, Marland Heights Lions Club; 18, Marland Heights Fire Station; and 19, the Phoenix Society, 1331 Pennsylvania Ave.

Butler District: Precinct 20, Weir Middle School; 21, Hancock County Sheltered Workshop; 22, Weirton Heights Elementary; 23, Liberty School; 24, West Virginia Northern Community College, 25, Liberty School; 26, Gilson Avenue Fire Station; 27, Broadview School; and 28, United Methodist Church on Pennsylvania Avenue.

Those unsure of their precincts may call the Brooke County Clerk's office at (304) 737-3661 or Hancock County Clerk's Office at (304) 564-3311, extensions 288 or 282 in Hancock County.

I am looking for: