Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Women’s Golf League News

July 14, 2013
The Herald-Star


"God Bless the USA" will be the theme for this year's invitational to be held Aug. 1 at Spring Hills Golf Course in East Springfield.

It will be a four-woman scramble with a minimum team handicap of 40. The cost is $55 per person, which includes 18 holes with cart, a continental breakfast, food at the turn and a luncheon to be held at the end of play.

Article Photos

WINNERS — Winners in the Dyer Ladies League’s annual Firecracker two-women/one best ball golf tournament on July 2 were, seated, from left, Debbie Phillippi, Marilyn Kenny, Theresa Metcalf and Dianna Adams, and standing, Paula Hope, Vickie Grant, Kathy Moore, Patty Filak, Mary Alice Meyer, Mary Arehart, Ruth Lamantia and Arlene Owens.
-- Contributed

Low gross and low net will be paid in all three flights with proximity prizes also being awarded.

"Spring Hills wil be decked out in its finest red, white and blue. We want to honor this great country as our members gather decorations to prepare the hills in the patriotic theme," a league spokesperson said.

A team photo will be taken by Claudia Norris with each team member receiving a copy during the luncheon.

"Share the Wealth" is a 50-50 drawing where all the money is given out back to the winners.

Hole sponsors are being sought at $50 per hole. Proceeds will benefit the Tony Teramana Cancer Center. Interested sponsors can call (740) 264-5063.

To register a team, call the pro shop at (740) 543-3270 by July 18. Late entries can call (740) 283-2605 or (740) 512-6291.


The Dyer Ladies League hosted its annual Firecracker two-women/one best ball golf tournament on July 2 with a full field of golfers from around the valley and beyond participating in the event.

Every member of the league contributed homemade foods for the event where President Mary Arehart welcomed golfers and Mary Alice Meyer led the ladies in prayer before teeing off.

Tournament chairmen were Paula Hope and Vickie Grant.

Food chairmen were Grant and Cindy Montgomery.

Working the registration table were Ann Eroshevich, Eleanor Kindsvatter and Cindy Montgomery.

Signa Findlay was in charge of the gift drawing.

Proximity prizes were donated by Iggy's Pizza. A wine basket was donated by the Weirton Moose Lodge 688. Favors were provided by Davral & Associates and River Valley Health Partners, East Liverpool Hospital.

Winners of the event were:

A Flight:

First place: Debbie Phillippi, Marilyn Kenny

Second place: Patty Filak, Kathy Moore

Third place: Paula Hope, Vickie Grant

B Flight:

First place: Dianna Adams, Theresa Metcalf

Second place: Mary Alice Meyer, Mary Arehart

Third place: Ruth Lamantia, Arlene Owens

Skins game winners:

A Flight:

Mishal Hawthorne, Priscilla Mavrich

Marilyn Kenny, Debbie Phillippi (2)

Patty Filak, Kathy Moore

B Flight:

Marge Alpino, Eleanor Kindsvatter

Ruth Lamantia, Arlene Owens

Betty Kelly, Barb Carlson

50/50 drawing: Mary Ann Bainbridge

Proximity prizes: Dianna Adams, Debbie Phillippi

Winner of the Firecracker door prize: Eleanor Kindsvatter

Results from the Dyer Ladies League on July 9 for the "Throw Out Two Worst Holes" game were:

A Flight: Paula Hope

B Flight: Teri Barkley

C Flight: Mary Alice Meyer

50/50 drawing winner: Mary Alice Meyer

Proximity: Ruth Lamantia


Blackmoor's Monday Night Ladies Golf League played July 1 with a "Throw out Your Worst Hole Game."

The winner was Lori DeFallo. Long Drive went to Lucy Karran. Denise Augustine had low putts, and Tammy Cox had a chip-in on hole No. 8.

On July 8, the women played low gross. Neysa McCart took the win. Renee Morelli had closest to the pin on hole No. 12 along with a birdie. Linda Caputo had long drive on hole No. 17. Densie Augustine had low putts for the day.

All women are welcome to play on Mondays at 5 p.m.


After being rained out June 26, the Cadiz Women's Golf Association played a flag tournament on July 3.

The winner in first flight was Nep Rowland, and in the second flight it was Nancy Beckert. The low putts of the field pot was split as a tie between Rowland and Peg Buchanan.

The July 10 hostess was Betty Thompson.



July 8

Game: Scramble

First place: Mary Ann Bainbridge, Peg Barber, Judy Sorrenti and Pam Walters shot a 37.

Second place: Patty Filak, Patti Powelson, Dorothy Baier and Clondell Barkley shot a 38.

Third place: Sharon Coleman, Patty Gerlando and Charlotte McCoy shot a 39.

Chip-ins: Patti Powelson on No. 1, Pam Walters on No. 7 and Charlotte McCoy on No. 8.

50/50: Judy Sorrenti

July 1

Game: 3 Mulligans

First place: Erin Ankrum

Second place: Patty Filak

Third place: Holly Kisner

50/50: Pam Walters

June 24

Game: Hole numbers starting with nose

First place: Erin Ankrum

Second place: Signa Findlay

Third place: Kathi Moore

Chip-ins: Pat Carey on No. 2 and Kathi Moore on No. 6

50/50: Pam Walters


To commemorate the July 4 holiday, the Steubenville Country Club Women's Golf Association played a flag tournament with Dianna Adams and Shelle Pentes as chairmen. Each player was given a small American flag which she had to plant on the golf course where her score totaled par plus her handicap. All players dressed in patriotic red, white and blue colored outfits.

Marilyn Kenny took first place when she placed her flag on the No. 18 green. Theresa Metcalf was a close second with her flag planted on her approach shot to No. 18 green. Shelle Pentes won third with her flag on the fairway of No. 18. YangJa Koh took the prize for low putts. There were no chip-ins so the money cup will carry over for another week.

Winners for the nine-hole golfers were Dotty Tegano, first place and putts, and DeeDee Scugoza, second place.

A luncheon followed play, and club champion YangJa Koh was honored with a surprise birthday celebration. Specially captioned balloons decorated the table and a decorated cake was served as dessert.

Renee Morelli reported that the Rally for a Cure tournament will be held July 24, and players should sign up in the locker room. Natalie Straus is assisting Morelli with the Rally.

This week's event will be an odd hole tournament with one-half handicap. Eighteen-hole golfers are to report at 8:30 a.m. for a 9 a.m. start, and nine-hole golfers should show up at 9 a.m. for a 9:30 a.m. tee-off.

As part of the Fourth of July festivities at the Steubenville Country Club, the Women's Golf Association once again sponsored a long drive competition for children of members and guests. DeeDee Scugoza and Shannon Irvin were chairmen of the contest with the assistance of golf professional John Denholm.

The youth hit their drives from the No. 1 tee, while family members and friends applauded their efforts. Winners in various age groups were as follows. In the girls' division: ages 4 and under, Ava Denholm, member, and Kaydence Ortiz, guest; ages 5 and 6, Olivia Vostatek, member; ages 7 to 9, Gianna Scugoza, member, and Gianna Boley, guest; ages 10 to 12, Rachel Peterson, member.

In the boys' division: ages 4 and under, Bronson Denholm, member, and Kevin Pinney, guest; ages 5 and 6, Joseph Scugoza, member, and Evan Peterson, guest; ages 7 to 9, Massimo Lancia, member; ages 13 to 15, Howie Peterson, member.

All of the winners received engraved trophies provided by the Women's Golf Association.

I am looking for: