Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Women’s Golf News

September 8, 2013
The Herald-Star


Winners for the season-ending golf scramble held Sept. 3 for the Dyer Ladies League were:

First-place team:

Mishal Hawthorne

Vickie Grant

JoAnn Cicone (special guest)

Second-place team:

Paula Hope

Debbie Phillippi

Mary Alice Meyer

Chip-In: Mishal Hawthorne

Proximity: Cindy Montgomery

50-50 drawing: Mary Ann Bainbridge

The 2013 awards banquet will be held at Giovanni's Restaurant on Sept. 17.

The Dyer Ladies League would like to thank its membership, all who participated and contributed to the league and special events held throughout the year.

The league also expresses gratitude to George, Cookie and Troy Fisher for their contributions as well.

The 2013 officers are:

President: Mary Arehart

Secretary: Ruth Lamantia

Treasurer: Vickie Grant

The league concludes after the Oktoberfest Scramble on Oct. 5 and resumes on May 6.

Contact any current member if interested in joining the league.


Spring Hills Ladies played "Sucker in a Bucket" on Aug 29.

The winners were the first-place team of Marge Alpino, Erin Mader and Tammy Cox, with a 44.

The second-place team with a 45 was Dru Fleishour, Mary Alice Myers, Mary Arehart and JoAnn Hardman and also with a 45 was the team of Loris Szymanek, Judy Hare and Brenda McClosky.

Low putts for the night with 15 putts was a three-way tie between Marge Alpino, Judy Hare and Dru Fleishour.

Chip-ins there were three chip-ins - Eleanor Kindsvatter, Mary Arehart and Marge Alpino.

Long drive A flight was Dru Fleishour and B flight, Judy Hare and C flight, Mary Arehart.

Closest to pin in 2 were A flight, Lori Szymanek; B flight, Erin Mader; and C flight, Susan Mazzocco.

Peggy Wang was the 50/50 winner.


The Steubenville Country Club Women's Golf Association played a 3-3-3 tournament as its weekly event with Marilyn Kenny and Dianna Adams as chairmen. Prior to tee-off, each player chose three par 3's, three par 4's and three par 5's, which would count for scoring with one half handicap used to determine winners.

In the first flight YangJa Koh placed first with Kim Criss coming in second. Kenny won putts. Second flight winners were Shelle Pentes, first place, and Theresa Metcalf, second place. Metcalf took low putts and also recorded a chip-in on hole No. 17 to claim the money cup.

Nine-hole golfers chose one par 3, one par 4 and one par 5 for scoring. Dotty Tegano won first place with Natalie Straus taking second place and putts.

This week the back nine will be closed for aeration of greens and only the front nine will be available for play.


Town and Country Women Golf League had medal play on Aug. 29 at Spring Hills Golf Course.

Winners for the day were:

Low gross: A flight, Laura Froehlich; B flight, Kathy Antinone; C flight, Rose Kazmarek.

Low net: A flight, Lillian Kestner; B flight, Pat Zorne; C flight, Irene Vaja.

Bobbie Mangan had a chip-in on hole No. 3.

Froehlich had a birdie on hole No. 7, and Mangan on hole No. 3.

Long drive on hole No. 6: A flight, Signa Findlay; B flight, Zorne; C flight, Sondra Hyde.

Long drive hole No. 7: A flight, Froehlich; B flight, Edie Higgins; C flight, Sondra Hyde.

Closest to the pin on hole No. 8: A flight, Lucy Karaan; B flight, Antinone; and C flight, Betty Teaff.

The monthly meeting followed in the golf course cafeteria.

I am looking for: